A New Adventure!

Well, hello there! I’m beginning a new phase in life. Friday was my last day at my teaching job at the local Catholic high school where I taught for three years. I love my subject, my kids, and most aspects of teaching. I just am not physically or mentally able to deal with the stress of 50+ hour weeks. Especially for the pay. For those of you who aren’t aware, private school teachers generally make MUCH less than their public school counterparts, without the benefits of working for a large employer, such as good, affordable health insurance and retirement. So I have left. I am in search of new employment, and I hope to find something exciting by the end of July, when my teaching salary ends.

For now, I’m beginning this blog, sewing, crafting, reading, and trying to figure out where to put all this ‘teacher’ stuff I have acquired. I gave some of the supplies to my teacher friends, since I don’t have much use for more colored pencils, markers, Expos, and scissors here at home. Also, the motivational posters pretty much were distributed to my coworkers, since they don’t really go with my decor. My sunroom has several boxes and a few bags of things I need to find places for, and I hope I can get it taken care of by the end of this first week.

I’ve made a little ‘nest’ in the corner of the sunroom to read, color, and just think. Or surf the interwebs. It’s just our winter duvet with a blanket covering it, and some pillows. It’s a nice place to be. Our apartment has a nice view of the pool, so I can see kids playing, people lounging, and a nice grassy areal with a wooded area behind. Most of the trees are various deciduous varieties, with a few pines mixed in. There is also a single Mimosa tree. For anyone who has not had the pleasure of seeing a mimosa, they are lovely. Unfortunately, they are also quite invasive. I once had some property in south Georgia, and one came up in the garden area. I kept cutting it out, getting out as many roots as I could find, but it kept coming back. I don’t even know where it came from, as there were no others in the vicinity.

Also visible is my neighbor’s bird feeder, which attracts lots of pretty birds. There are a couple of cardinals and their mates that are out there every day. the cats and I watch their antics. They also visit my little bird feeder, but there’s a fat squirrel that keeps getting out feed, so they don’t get as much of ours, though the cats enjoy watching the squirrel as he feeds. Our eighteen pound boy, Fatticus, keeps trying to go out to play with him, but the squirrel runs away when the door opens. So Fatticus is sad. He wants animal friends. But only if they are smaller than him. He runs to the door when dogs or other cats come near. Squirrels, birds, chipmunks, and lizards are more his speed.

I suppose I’ll go start dinner. Tonight I’m grilling some chicken thighs that have been marinating in zesty Italian dressing, eggplant slices, corn on the cob, and some zucchini fries. I’ll just brush the eggplant with a bit of olive oil, and serve it with some balsamic vinegar drizzled over. The corn has been soaking with it’s husks still on in water for a couple hours , and Jeremiah will make a spicy cilantro lime butter for it.  I slice the zucchini into lengthwise eighths, then toss in olive oil before coating with a mixture of Italian bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese, then put them on a baking sheet on the top rack of the grill. I don’t like heating up the kitchen in the summer if I can help it. Georgia is just too hot.

I hope you have a lovely week! Come and visit again!

Leave a Reply

