Silver Truffle Candy Cat

I warned you. I said last week that I’m a crazy cat lady. I don’t make a habit of telling lies.

We got another cat Tuesday. His name is Truffle, and he’s a silvery-grey tabby with white accents. He is two years old, and he is a love-bug.

wp-1465743297973.jpg
He was quite nervous at first, and didn’t want to come out of his carrier.

In February, when we had to send my sweet, just barely shy of 16, cat, Hannah Annah, to live with Jesus, I told my vet (who also runs a cat rescue) that I’d be looking for another kitty when school got out. She started thinking, and when I came back in March to have my other kitties’ annual check ups, she told me about this boy. Since it was Spring Break, we set up a time to meet him at the clinic. Though a little shy, he was very sweet and totally snuggly with his foster-mommy. Needless to say, I was in love!

So I got him Tuesday afternoon, and he didn’t make a sound at all as I drove him home in the car. For those of you who have kitties, you understand how unusual that was! I’ve had several kitties over the years, and even the most sweet and gentle ones would have a few words of protest. I even called one of my sisters (on the Bluetooth) while driving home so she could hear the silence form him.

After getting home and getting him settled in his room, showing the litter box and food bowls, I left him for about an hour to explore on his own. I don’t think he left the carrier. He was so nervous and didn’t know what was going on at all, poor baby. Both Jeremiah and I went in and sat with him, petting him and talking to him, for an hour or so each. Then after dinner, I took my book and some pillows to read and lounge with him. Jeremiah came in about midnight and woke me up to go to bed. Truffle was still hiding.

wp-1465743067639.jpg
He found a new hiding spot, but would come out for pets and loves.

The next morning, he had found the cave in the bottom of the scratching post I’d put in there for him. He tended to stay in the cave, but came out whenever either of us would walk in the room. Again, we each separately and together would go in and spend an hour or more petting and just hanging out with our new boy. Our existing cats were a bit upset that we wouldn’t let them in the room, as they were curious about the new kitty.

Thursday, I had some mending and ironing to get done, so I spent much of the day in with him, since that is my sewing room. He became much more comfortable, and stayed out of the cave most of the time I was in there.

wp-1465743198239.jpg
A more comfortable Truffle. He likes to have his belly rubbed!

Friday I had lunch with friends and ran some errands, so we didn’t spend as much time together. So I stayed up with him until quite late, with the other kitties closed in the bedroom with Jeremiah, he got to explore the main rooms of the apartment freely.

Saturday, the kitties were all occupied in the sunroom, so I snuck Truffle into the bedroom to explore.

wp-1465666429877.jpg
A different window, a different view!
wp-1465666429876.jpg
Princess and Fatticus snuggle in my ‘nest.’
wp-1465748586847.jpg
Belly snoozing in the cat basket.

Today we are letting him out, quite supervised, to mingle for a bit. Belly is happy. She has wanted to play with the new kitty ever since he got here. Fatticus and he had snacks together, and seems to like his new friend. Princess is not happy. She is generally a scaredy-cat around new people, so I’m not surprised. I think they will all get along well as time goes on. Oh, Truffle is not fazed by any of the cats, he seems to wonder why there aren’t more, since his foster home had seventeen other cats. He already loves mine and Jeremiah’s love and attention, and Belly will try to play with him more, which he seems to enjoy.

I love my sweet new baby!

 

Leave a Reply

